New York Princess

This Kansas Princess took a break from her small town ways last month to travel 1297 miles to the BIG Apple. New York, New York. Luckily for myself and the group of students I traveled with, we went just a few weeks before Hurricane Sandy ripped through the crowded streets and packed subways. But while I was there, I had the BEST time. We went for a Field Study in History through my college. With only a carry on’s worth of luggage, I stayed in the City That Never Sleeps for 5 days (I know, not NEARLY enough time to enjoy myself) and had a whirlwind tour of the early 19th century. Tenement Museums, Gilded Age Houses, Ellis Island, the Statue of Liberty, Museum of the City of New York, and Seaport Tours. My feet were killing me when we left, I hadn’t gotten a good night’s sleep in 6 nights, and I felt a little like curling up into a ball and not moving for a solid 24 hours. But it was the GREATEST experience  and everyone should have a chance to travel to this fantastic city. Image

Leave a Reply

